Tredyffrin/Easttown School District **BOARD LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE**

October 7, 2015 7:00 p.m. TEAO, Meeting Room 200

Agenda

- Ι. Approval of September 2, 2015 Minutes
- Π. **Public Comment**
- School Director Region Reapportionment Study III.
- IV. Other

- Board Legislative Committee Goals:

 1.
 Determine annual priorities for District legislative advocacy.
- Monitor legislative and regulatory developments emerging from the state and federal governments. 2
- 3. Determine appropriate methods to influence state and federal representatives including, but not limited to, legislative contacts, Board action and public engagement.

DRAFT PENDING COMMITTEE APPROVAL BOARD LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES September 2, 2015 Tredvffrin/Easttown Administrative Offices

7:00 PM

Agenda

Attending all or part of the meeting:

Board Committee Members: Doug Carlson (Chair), Scott Dorsey

Other Board Members: Kevin Buraks, Karen Cruickshank, Virginia Lastner, Elizabeth Mercogliano, Peter Motel

T/E School District Representatives: Wendy Towle (Administrative Liaison), Nancy Adams, Richard Gusick

Community Members: Ray Clarke, Douglas Anestad, Roberta Hotinski, Michele Burger, Neil Colligan, Patrick McHugh, Francis Reardon, Peg Layden, Kate Murphy, Todd Kantorczak

The meeting was called to order t 7:03 PM.

Approval of Minutes:

The February 17, 2015 minutes were approved.

Public Comment:

Ray Clarke commented on the **School Director Reapportionment Study**. Douglas Anestad commented on the **School Director Reapportionment Study**. Michele Burger commented on the **School Director Reapportionment Study**. Neil Colligan commented on the **School Director Reapportionment Study**. Todd Kantorczak commented on the **School Director Reapportionment Study**. Patrick McHugh commented on the **School Director Reapportionment Study**.

Committee Discussion and Recommendations:

The Committee received and discussed a report by Ken Roos and Larry Dodds, District Solicitors, on **School Director Reapportionment Processes**. The report reviewed current PA School Code – Section 303b, permissible forms of representation, and criteria for determining regions, analysis and formulas for decision-making, the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania approval process and the effect of reapportionment on sitting Board Members. The Committee established a subcommittee to study reapportionment. School Directors participating in this subcommittee include Doug Carlson, Scott Dorsey, Kevin Buraks and Karen Cruickshank.

The Committee agreed to first establish criteria independent of examining data and tasked the administration with future work of data collection.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:25 PM.

